Petitions and Minimum Wage

As a Democrat legislator and also an easy pushover for good causes, (this is a great cause) I have in my little hands petitions to put an initiated measure to increase the minimum wage on the November 2014 ballot.  I finally put my rear in gear and asked for a couple of signatures last evening. Believe it or not, I have a hard time doing the petition thing.  I have no idea why; I don’t think shyness is the reason, but I haven’t figured it out quite yet.

I used to think that every state gave citizens the right to petition, but found out that South Dakota is one of only fifteen states where citizens can initiate a law through a petition process. Over 15,000 signatures of registered voters are needed; so it’s not an easy task.  South Dakotans can also refer a law to the ballot box.  If the legislature passes a law that some feel isn’t right, they can get enough signers to bring that law to a vote of the people—a referred law versus an initiated measure.

One thing that most South Dakotans may not know, is that this can also be done at the county level. County residents may initiate ordinances or resolutions with signatures of five percent of registered voters of the county; they may also refer any ordinance or resolution approved by the county commission. City residents have the same power. This does not pertain to changes in zoning; those need twenty percent of the signatures of land owners. (A little unfair and nearly impossible.)

So what about the petition process?  Comments range from “We’ve elected those people; what they say should be law” to “This is one way where people’s voices are really heard.” I am tending to agree more with the latter. Let the people be heard; and this is true local control. If it would ever get totally out of hand, let’s say over twenty or thirty issues per ballot, I might change my mind, but South Dakotans usually have a lot of common sense, and I don’t see that happening.

Back to my asking for signatures last night. Things went well until I got to my brother-in-law. He does not agree with me on the minimum wage increase and thus did not sign. We tend to disagree on everything that has to do with politics, so I didn’t feel too bad.  He has his right to his opinions, even if they are wrong, but I still think he should sign; signing doesn’t necessarily mean that you are for something. All the signatures are for is to get the issue on the ballot—then let the people decide.

South Dakota isn’t alone in this quest.  Three other states are looking at putting increases to their minimum wage on their November ballots, while four others are looking at legislation to do the same.

Washington has the highest minimum wage at $9.19. South Dakota’s is the federal minimum of $7.25 per hour. The initiated measure proposes to raise South Dakota’s minimum wage to $8.50 for non-tipped employees and $4.25 for tipped employees and includes a cost of living increase each year.

According to the supporters, raising South Dakota’s minimum wage would make a huge difference for 62,000 working South Dakotans who would  see an increase in earnings;  78% of those folks are over the age of 20, often with a family to support; and 55% of those are women. It will put more money into the hands of working people who will then spend it, generating new business and some economic growth.

Yes, I’ll keep the petition in hand and will probably ask you to sign it.  If not, hopefully someone else will. Let’s let the people of South Dakota determine what’s best for us.

Please keep in touch and take care.

Take care. 

Rep. Kathy Tyler

kathytyler2012@gmail.com

605.237.0228

Leave a comment