This is THE Week!

We just got home from quick trip to Rochester to see our new grandson, Samuel Victor, born on January 5 at 6:59PM.  Of course he’s a perfect baby.  I had told my daughter that he needed to be born before session, and for once, she listened!  The timing couldn’t have been any better. 

I am anxious to move into my new home in Pierre.  It’s a beautiful bed and breakfast on the river with lots of room and a beautiful view. But I’m a lot more anxious to start my new job as your legislator.  The 38 day session starts on Tuesday with legislators being sworn in at noon and the Governor’s address at 1:00. There haven’t been any hints of proposals like there was last year when the Governor proposed major changes in South Dakota’s educational system.  With federal funding being in limbo, this could be a tenuous session.

Thank you to all of people who visited with us on Saturday in Clear Lake and Volga.  Discussion items included everything from contractors’ excise tax to guns in schools. A major topic was township funding or lack thereof. It fits right into my Local Government committee assignment; so I really appreciated the information.  The Homestake Mine was discussed as well as education and the elimination of the Meals on Wheels programs in numerous towns.  Please watch the local newspapers for cracker barrel sessions in your towns.  Clear Lake and Brookings have scheduled theirs already, and I’m sure Milbank and Watertown will follow.  If you’d like to schedule one in your area, please do so.

The email is starting to come.  So far, they’ve been very well written, and I will start replying to them this week.  I was told on Saturday to keep an open mind; I feel that I do.  A major part of my campaign was based on the fact that I have a willingness to listen.  I haven’t changed.   With that in mind, please call or write to me with concerns.

And the social calendar is filling up.  There are social events every night the first week: South Dakota Retailers, Pierre Chamber of Commerce, Rural Water, South Dakota Library Association, and South Dakota Rural Electric Association.

I don’t usually do the quote thing, but this one seemed to hit home this week.  It was written by Harry J. Gray of United Technologies in 1983. 

  • Submit to pressure from peers and you move down to their level.
  • Speak up for your own beliefs and you invite them up to your level.
  • If you move with the crowd, you’ll get no further than the crowd.
  • When 40 million people believe in a dumb idea, it’s still a dumb idea.
  • Simple swimming with the tide leaves you nowhere.
  • So if you believe in something that’s good, honest and bright –stand up for it.
  • Maybe your peers will get smart and drift your way.

 

Please have a great week.

Thanks and take care.

Kathy Tyler

kathytyler2012@gmail.com

rep.tyler@state.sd.us

facebook.com/tylerfordistrict4

kathytyler.wordpress.com (blogging site)

605.237.0228

Leave a comment